BSTP/STP Webinar — The Fog Dissipates: Insight Into Pulmonary Effects of Vaping

By Tierre Miller posted 17 days ago

  

BSTP/STP Webinar
 
The Fog Dissipates: Insight Into Pulmonary Effects of Vaping
May 25, 2021
12:00 Noon EDT, 5:00 PM GMT/ 6:00 PM CET

A BSTP webinar - in collaboration with the Society of Toxicological Pathology (STP) to be held on Tuesday 25th May 2021, at 12:00 Noon Eastern Daylight Time (New York, GMT-04:00), 5:00 PM GMT Time (London, GMT+01:00), and the duration of the webinar will be up to 1 hour.

The Fog Dissipates: Insight Into Pulmonary Effects of Vaping
By Elizabeth Neyens, DVM, DABT, Toxicological Pathologist

Abstract: Electronic cigarettes contain e-liquids that are aerosolized with an electronic nicotine delivery system (ENDS). The e-liquid is typically composed of one single or various flavors with or without nicotine, which are often diluted in a mixture of propylene glycol (PG) and/or vegetal glycerol (VG). The presence of newly aerosol-formed chemical constituents such as diacetyl (2,3-butanedione), and/or acetyl propionyl (2,3-pentanedione) is often associated with the presence of fruit and sweet flavors. So, it became evident that appealing sweet flavorings, even if within the “generally recognized as safe” (GRAS) category, were playing a key role when it comes to protect human health. The different types of in-vitro and in-vivo animal models applying the principles of current validated e-smoking regimes will evaluate not only the aerosol cancer potency, but also the potential immunotoxicity, target organ, and reproduction toxicity of the individual ingredients, combustion-related HPHC’s, nanoparticles and potentially leachable metals into the e-liquids. This webinar will compare the vaping-induced pathology changes in animal models with the published e-cigarette vaping-associated lung injury (EVALI) case reports in humans. 

We look forward to your participation.


Registration is required.

0 comments
3 views

Permalink